Sweet Braised Whole Scallions

Braised Whole Scallions

Onions and I are tenuous friends, at best. For the most part, I do my best to avoid them, and rarely find them in my shopping cart, much less my skillet*. Frankly something about their sulfurous twang is a big turnoff, not to mention that they bring tears to my eyes every. single. time. I chop one.

*I do use them in homemade stock (more on this soon), and I’ll add them to the pan (but avoid them myself) when making fajitas and the like for the benefit of my dining companions (Andrew LOVES onions), but that’s about it.

Scallions

Trimmed Scallions

Strangely enough I tolerate, and even enjoy the subtlety of a good scallion, leek or ramp; my beef lies with their sharper cousins: Vidalia, red, white, cippolini, shallots, etc.  Still, I was surprised to find that the first recipe I decided to try out of a recent and highly anticipated present to myself (All About Braising) was so unabashedly onion-y.

Scallions Before and After

Luckily, my “investment” (maybe $3.50, scallions are CHEAP) paid off. These are unlike anything I’ve eaten before. Somehow, the scallions became creamy and mellow, with just a hint of perky tang (thanks to a crucial squeeze of lemon juice). If Molly Stevens can work this much magic on the humble scallion, I can’t wait to see what else she has in store.

Braised Whole Scallions 2

Sweet Braised Whole Scallions

These would make an excellent (and low-effort) side for most anything, though I think they’d be particularly exceptional with a fillet of salmon or a simple roast chicken. I also could imagine these as a crostini topping paired with creamy ricotta or burrata, or as a light lunch with a poached egg and toast.   Frankly though, I’ve yet to try most of these ideas out, as this first batch was consumed by Andrew and I in its entirety, hot from the dish, swirled around a fork like spaghetti, so take the “serves 6” with a grain of salt. They’re that good.

Adapted, barely, from All About Braising by way of Food 52 Genius Recipes

Serves 6

2 ½ tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temp
1 pound scallions (about 5 bunches, or 3 dozen)
½ cup water
1 tablespoon coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley, or 1 ½ teaspoons coarsely chopped tarragon (fresh, not dried)
Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

the juice of ½ a lemon

__________

Preheat oven to 350°F. Use about a ½ tablespoon of butter to grease a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.

Trim the root ends and the top 1 ½ inches off the scallions. Arrange half of the scallions in a single layer in the baking dish with the root ends facing the edges of the dish, and the greens towards the middle.  Repeat with the other half of the scallions on the opposite side of the dish, overlapping the greens in the middle.

Pour the water into the dish. Dot with the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter and sprinkle with the chopped herbs. Season with salt and pepper. Cover the dish tightly in tinfoil and braise for 35-40 minutes, or until fragrant.

Remove the foil and increase the heat in the oven to 450°F. Place the dish back in the oven and roast for 10-15 minutes (checking at 10) or until the liquid has evaporated and the scallions have begun to brown. Squeeze the lemon juice evenly over the scallions and serve warm.

ENJOY!

Braised Whole Scallions 3

This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sweet Braised Whole Scallions

  1. Oh my goodness– I was just thinking “what would I pair this with?” and when I read “BURRATA” it was over. Great Sandy-friendly (easy) side! Looking forward to trying this soon 🙂

  2. bellegroveatportconway says:

    These look good! I never thought about that with scallions!

  3. ileana says:

    I bookmarked these as soon as I saw them on FOOD 52! I also just picked up Molly Stevens’ book “All About Roasting” and I look forward to learning from her braising book.

    • Nicole says:

      Ileana, I originally heard of this recipe from the Spilled Milk podcast (which is fantastic btw) http://www.spilledmilkpodcast.com/2010/02/17/braised-scallions-and-carnita-salad-recipes-from-episode-5/, but kind of forgot about it until I saw the recipe again on food52. After making these I pretty much want to try all of the food52 genius recipes and anything Molly Stevens. All About Roasting is definitely on my wishlist!

      • ileana says:

        Thanks, I’ll check out that podcast. I like to listen to The Splendid Table when I go for a walk…maybe I can add Spilled Milk.

        As for All About Roasting, try the library! It’s a big book, so I borrowed it for now.

      • Nicole says:

        I love podcasts, but I’ve actually never heard an episode of The Splendid Table, clearly I’ll have to check it out. I also regularly listen to Good Food http://www.kcrw.com/etc/programs/gf, the Joy the Baker podcast http://joythebaker.com/podcast/, and NPR’s food podcast, which is pretty neat as it’s basically a digest of all of the food related clips from their different shows every week (All Things Considered, Fresh Air, etc). You should be able to find it by searching “NPR food” in iTunes, it’s the “NPR Topics: Food Podcast.”

        And I’ll second your library recommendation, I love cruising the food section at my library to see what’s worth the purchase.

  4. ileana says:

    Awesome. Thank you!

  5. Pingback: Creamy Celery Soup | BowlLicking

  6. Pingback: Creamy Celery Soup | BowlLicking

  7. ratedkb says:

    This looks great.
    Pair it with some roasted chicken and it’s the bee’s knees

    ratedkb.blogspot.com

  8. Bunny Eats Design says:

    Recently handed more scallions (we call them spring onions here) than we can eat. I’m glad I found your recipe. I think I’ll roast chicken pieces tonight and serve your braised scallions as a side dish. I’m salivating already…

    • Nicole says:

      That sounds great! Really they’re such a cinch to prepare and the braising transforms the scallions/spring onions into something unlike anything else I’ve tasted, fantastic really.

      PS The header on your blog is adorable!

      • Bunny Eats Design says:

        Thanks Nicole. I have a a wonderful muse for the header on my blog. The braised spring onions went down well. Although they cooked down quite a bit so next time I will use twice as much as I think I will need. I didn’t follow your recipe exactly, just eyeballed it like I usually do. They were buttery and sweet. Delicious!

      • Nicole says:

        Good to hear that (well aside from them making less than you’d hoped)! It’s amazing how much they do cook down, they can (and have been) devoured by two, but I think that may be more of a function of how addictive I find them than anything, and I’m pretty happy with anything that makes me eat an excess of vegetables. Yes, Tofu is pretty adorable! How long have you had her? I can’t say I know a whole lot about bunnies (though I did have one when I was very little, I was so young that I don’t remember much). I did see a woman with her pet bunny on a leash on the beach recently, which was kind of a strange sight, but sweet nonetheless.

      • Bunny Eats Design says:

        Tofu is 4 and he hates leashes so we don’t bother anymore. He has free range of our house and backyard so he doesn’t really have much desire to leave our property. He has escaped a few times, but usually comes home when he’s ready to. Our neighbour’s vegetable garden is a favourite place for him to escape to. Luckily our neighbour doesn’t seem to mind that Tofu helps himself to a few leaves.

        I’ve made braised leeks before on the stovetop which has a similar flavour. I add heavy cream to that. I guess anything with butter and heavy cream will taste amazing though!

  9. Nicole says:

    Gosh, well that sounds pretty fun. He sounds almost like an indoor/outdoor cat! That’s lucky that your neighbor is generous with their garden, Tofu must be a pretty happy critter. Those braised leeks sound great! I certainly am no stranger to the miracles of butterfat.

Leave a comment